Congressman Johnson Reintroduces Resolution Recognizing International Decade for People of African Descent

March 2, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) reintroduced a resolution to designate the ten years between January 1, 2015, to December 31, 2024, as the “International Decade for People of African Descent.”

“This resolution is needed today more than ever. In an increasingly divided society, it is important that we acknowledge the many benefits of diversity, both in the United States and around the world. What we saw on Jan. 6 – right-wing white supremacists storming the Capitol carrying Trump and Confederate flags – was an assault on our rights, our democracy, and the diversity of our people. Congress must speak out to uplift African and Afro-descendant peoples and oppose clear white supremacy in the country.”

The United Nations declared 2011 the International Year for People of African Descent to globally recognize, protect, and celebrate individuals of African descent. While an encouraging declaration, racism and xenophobia remain pervasive and persistent.

In the Americas, there are about 200 million people who identify as Afro-descendants, and they constitute some of the poorest and most marginalized communities in the world.

Rep. Johnson’s resolution puts the spotlight on those communities and seeks to expand their access to social, economic and educational prosperity.

Designating the “International Decade for People of African Descent” creates a path towards increased visibility, and encourages a productive relationship between government, non-governmental, and advocacy organizations with Africans and Afro-descendants to develop programs that promote inclusion, champion justice and equality, unravel racism, and uproot intolerance.

Cosponsors include: Reps. Karen Bass, Sanford Bishop, Jamaal Bowman, Andre Carson, Dwight Evans, Robin Kelly, Brenda Lawrence, Barbara Lee, James McGovern, Gregory Meeks, Gwen Moore, Joe Neguse, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Donald Payne Jr., Bobby Rush, Michael San Nicolas, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Frederica Wilson.


Office Locations

Recent Votes

Date Roll Call Bill Vote
9/24/2021 295 H.R.3755 Yea
9/24/2021 294 H.R.3755 Nay
9/23/2021 293 H.R.4350 Yea
9/23/2021 292 H.R.4350 Yea
9/23/2021 291 H.R.4350 Yea