Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 11, 2013

The Honorable Chuck Hagel Secretary of Defense The Pentagon Washington, DC 20301

Dear Secretary Hagel:

We are writing to express our strong opposition to the decision not to open the commissary at Dobbins Air Reserve Base (ARB) and to jointly proceed with the closure of the commissary at Fort McPherson. This decision leaves these heroes without access to this important benefit. We urge the Department to keep its promise to open the commissary at Dobbins ARB and to maintain the commissary at Fort McPherson until the commissary at Dobbins ARB is open.

The commissary at Fort McPherson serves thousands of veterans and service members across north east Georgia, including the Atlanta region. These heroes have earned this benefit through service to their nation. In these difficult economic times, with veterans and service members facing the impact of sequestration, reduced benefits, and the effects of two recent wars, it is deeply disappointing that the Department would make the decision to deprive Atlanta-area veterans of a commissary.

If the Department plan is implemented, veterans and service members in the Atlanta area will have to travel up to two hours one way, to Fort Benning, to visit the nearest commissary. Veterans and service members who are older, ill, or working will find it difficult to make the four hour round trip to access their commissary benefit.

Service members and veterans in the Atlanta area deserve access to the commissary they were promised by their government. We urge the Department to keep its promise to open the commissary at Dobbins ARB and to maintain the commissary at Fort McPherson until the commissary at Dobbins ARB is open and we look forward to your timely response.

Sincerely,

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Member of Congress

ullin mbliss United States Senator

Johnny Isakson United States Senator

David Scott

Member of Congress

Phil Gingrey Member of Congress 100

John Lewis Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Paul CBro

Paul C. Broun, M.D. Member of Congress

Jong Collins GA-9

Doug Collins Member of Congress

Lynn Westmoreland Member of Congress

Tom Price

Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress

John Barrow Member of Congress

TRAVES OM

Tom Graves Member of Congress