House Judiciary Committee Passes Rep. Johnson’s Mobile Workforce Bill

March 22, 2017
Press Release

Following today’s markup, Congressman Hank Johnson’s bipartisan Mobile Workforce State Income Tax Simplification Act of 2017 passed the full House Judiciary Committee by a vote of 19-2.

“I applaud my colleagues in the House Judiciary Committee for advancing this important piece of legislation that makes it easier for Americans who work in multiple states to pay their taxes and for businesses to comply with state law. This legislation is commonsense and provides certainty to entities that do business in a number of states. It also streamlines the complicated rubric of state taxes.” said Rep. Johnson. “Simplifying the confusing patchwork of state income tax reporting and filing laws into more straightforward standards not only reduces costs and confusion for both businesses and employees, but also encourages interstate commerce. I look forward to joining my colleagues on the House floor so that we may pass this much needed reform. Today is a good day for business.”

With its companion bill S. 540 in the senate, H.R. 1393, the Mobile Workforce State Income Tax Simplification Act, streamlines the state income tax code across the country by setting a 30-day threshold before non-resident state income taxes take effect for employees who must travel for work.

Currently, many employees are legally required to file an income tax return in every state they travel for work, even if just for a single day. Businesses must also comply with the states’ varying withholding requirements for their employees’ travel. 

Current co-sponsors of the Mobile Workforce State Income Tax Simplification Act in the 115th Congress include: Reps. Jason Smith (MO-8), Mark Walker (NC-6), Jeff Duncan (SC-3), Luke Messer (IN-6), Will Hurd (TX-23), Tom Rice (SC-7), David Cicilline (RI-1), Larry Buschon (IN-8), John Culberson (TX-7), Mike McCaul (TX-10), Barbara Comstock (VA-10), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Jim Cooper (TN-5), Ted Deutch (FL-22), Phil Roe (TN-1), Alcee Hastings (FL-20), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Eric Swawell (CA-15), Tom Rooney (FL-17), Tom Marino (PA-10), Jackie Walorski (IN-2), Charlie Christ (FL-13), Bob Goodlatte (VA-6), Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11), Jeb Hensarling (TX-5), Darrell Issa (CA-49), Lamar Smith (TX-21), Glenn Grothman (WI-6), Bill Pascrell, Jr. (NJ-9), Leonard Lance (NJ-7), Brad Schneider (IL-10), Daniel Webster (FL-11), Robert Wittman (VA-1), Todd Rokita (IN-4), and Carlos Curbelo (FL-26).

Office Locations

Recent Votes

Date Roll Call Bill Vote
12/2/2021 401 H.R.2930 Yea
12/2/2021 400 H.R.6119 Yea
12/2/2021 399 H.R.6119 Yea
12/2/2021 398 H.R.6119 Nay
12/2/2021 397 H.RES.829 Yea