Congressman Johnson’s Resolution Censures Trump For Call to Georgia Secretary of State

January 4, 2021
Press Release

Rep. Johnson’s Resolution Censures and Condemns Trump for Blatantly Attempting to Overturn the Results of the November 2020 Presidential Election in Georgia.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) introduced H. Res 14 this evening, censuring and condemning President Donald J. Trump for attempting to overturn the results of the November 2020 presidential election in the State of Georgia. He is joined by 101 colleagues.

On Saturday, January 2, 2021, President Trump called Georgia’s Secretary of State and asked him to illegally fabricate the votes needed for him to win the Georgia vote count. On Sunday, January 3, 2021, the entire audio of the call was reported in The Washington Post. The call lasted more than an hour and involved the President threatening Secretary Raffensperger with vague criminal prosecution threats if he didn’t cooperate. Rep. Johnson moved quickly to condemn President Trump's criminal actions and denounce his flagrant attempts to defraud a legal, fair, and free election

Rep. Johnson tweeted: [the] president’s call to the Ga. SOS was far from “perfect.” In fact, it is a violation of state and federal law. Tomorrow, I will introduce a resolution of Censure. Trump should resign NOW!

The resolution garnered wide democratic support. Rep. Johnson was joined by Reps. Adams, Allred, Auchincloss, Barragan, Bass, Beatty, Beyer, Bishop, Blumenauer, Bonamici, Bourdeaux, Bowman, Boyle, Bush, Butterfield, Cardenas, Carson, Casten, Castor, Castro, Chu, Cicilline, Yvette Clarke, Cohen, Connolly, Cooper, Correa, Courtney, Danny Davis, Dean, DeLauro, Dingell, Doggett, Escobar, Eshoo, Espaillat, Dwight Evans, Foster, Chuy Garcia, Sylvia Garcia, Jimmy Gomez, Al Green, Hastings, Hayes, Brian Higgins, Himes, Huffman, Jackson Lee, Jayapal, Mondaire Jones, Khanna, Kildee, John Larson, Brenda Lawrence, Barbara Lee, Andy Levin, Mike Levin, Lieu, Lowenthal, Luria, Lynch, Matsui, McCollum, McEachin, McGovern, McNerney, Meeks, Meng, Moulton, Newman, Norton, Ocasio-Cortez, Omar, Pallone, Panetta, Pingree, Pocan, Pressley, Raskin, Rice, Rush, Sanchez, Scanlon, Schakowsky, David Scott, Sewell, Sherman, Speier, Suozzi, Swalwell, Takano, Mike Thompson, Tlaib, Tonko, Norma Torres, Ritchie Torres, Veasey, Velázquez, Watson Coleman, Welch, Yarmuth.

Text of the resolution HERE.

The resolution also calls on President Trump to retract and disavow this unlawful and unconstitutional behavior and acknowledge President-elect Joseph R. Biden as the victor of the November 2020 presidential election.


Office Locations

Recent Votes

Date Roll Call Bill Vote
8/24/2021 260 H.R.4 Yea
8/24/2021 259 H.R.4 Nay
8/24/2021 258 H.RES.601 Yea
8/24/2021 257 H.RES.601 Yea
8/23/2021 256 S.272 Yea