Reps. Johnson, Butterfield launch State Medicaid Expansion Caucus

Congressmen to raise awareness on the budgetary, economic, health and moral reasons for states to expand Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Reps. Hank Johnson (GA-04) and G.K. Butterfield (NC-01), along with more than 30 House colleagues, announced the formation of the State Medicaid Expansion Caucus.

Members of the Caucus will highlight the need for recalcitrant states to expand Medicaid through floor speeches, op-eds, social media posts, discussions with their colleagues and constituents.

“Expanding Medicaid will ensure access to health care for millions of low-income Americans,” said Johnson. “It will bring the security of health insurance to working people who are struggling to make ends meet. But it will also bring billions of dollars into each states economy as people go to work providing care and beneficiaries see improved health outcomes. The people who will benefit from expanding Medicaid are no less deserving of health care than anyone else.”

“Twenty four states’ decision to not accept billions of dollars in federal support defies logic and will prove catastrophic for the very people the Medicaid program is intended to help,” said Rep. Butterfield.  “The public is demanding action in states that have not expanded and members of the State Medicaid Expansion Caucus are tired of inaction.  We will continue to press this issue until all 50 states have expanded Medicaid.”  

The members were joined by representatives from healthcare advocacy groups, including: Families USA; Center on Budget and Policy Priorities; Coalition on Human Needs; the Catholic Health Association of the United States; and the Georgetown Center for Children and Families.

MEMBERS: Johnson (GA, Co-Chair), Butterfield (Co-Chair), Wilson (FL), Sewell (AL), Hastings (FL), Garcia (FL), Grayson (FL), Pocan (FL), Brown (FL), Deutch (FL), Schwartz (PA), Scott (GA), Lewis (GA), Grijalva (AZ), Bishop (GA), Jackson Lee (TX), Cohen (TN), Green (TX), Clyburn (SC), Castor (FL), Wasserman Schultz (FL), Pingree (ME), Murphy (FL), Connolly (VA), Frankel (FL), Michaud (ME), Price (NC), Moran (VA), Clay (MS), Green (TX), Doggett (TX); Moore (WI), Richmond (LA), Waxman (CA).

For more, go to To read Rep. Johnson’s op-ed in the Huffington Post on the new Caucus, click HERE. To view Rep. Johnson’s floor speech announcing the Caucus, click HERE.